• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

help, adderall prescription wont be continued by my new doctor.

thatonegingerguy

Greenlighter
Hi, im new to this so i apologize if this is the incorrect placement for this but i have a question. i have been taking adderall for roughly 3 years as prescribed without any issues, and it has been working wonders on my ADHD. i recently moved and had to switch psychiatrists and my new doc will not continue my perscription at all, not for any reason other than saying "she hasnt nor will she ever prescribe adderall". apparently the area i live in is experiencing issues with prescription pills (especially amphetamines and opiates) being sold on the streets which has led to the docs around here being skiddish about prescribing something like adderall. Ive been on all of the non stimulant alternatives that are out there as well as having tried vyvanse, concerta, and a few others and the only one that seems to work without giving me bad side effects (muscle spasms and facial ticks for vyvanse) is adderall her solution was to put me back on vyvanse with a fairly heavy muscle relaxant to stop the side effects but it basically puts me to sleep and i cant do it anymore. im all set up to see another psychiatrist in a couple of weeks and im trying to figure out how to breach the subject with him without making it seem as though im just drug seeking and scaring him off... should i call ahead and tell them that is why i am coming in or wait until i see the doctor to bring it up? any advice on how to do that would be awesome?