View threads about
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Drug Busts Megathread Video Megathread

Four Well-Meaning Things Not to Say to People Who Struggle With Drugs

Jabberwocky

Frumious Bandersnatch
Four Well-Meaning Things Not to Say to People Who Struggle With Drugs

Jeremy Galloway | 11/15/16 said:
We know what they say about good intentions and the road they pave. And while you won’t catch me attacking people for doing what they genuinely believe to be helpful, there’s a kernel of truth in the old cliché.

As a person with a long history of substance use, a criminal record that could fill the pages of a short novel and multiple mental health conditions, I have some experience of well-meaning people and their good intentions. Unfortunately, these often cause more harm than good—and even words that are kindly meant can be hurtful and damaging to vulnerable people.

The following isn’t intended as an exercise in political correctness, but language does matter. Readers of The Influence will understand the stigmatizing quality of terms like “junkie,” “alcoholic” and “addict”—words which carry not only immediate negative consequences, but also encourage us to assume disempowering, limiting identities (though I don’t question people’s right to attach those labels to themselves, if they so choose).

You’ll understand, too, how describing someone as “clean” when they pass a drug test implies that they—and other people who use drugs—are “dirty” when those tests produce positive results.

But there are more subtle examples of phrases—usually used by truly compassionate people—that reinforce the message that people who use drugs or struggle with them, or are living with mental health conditions (which often co-occur with substance use disorders) carry less social value, or even present some social burden to the rest of us. Here are some of them.

1. “Every Overdose Victim Is Somebody’s Son/Daughter/Brother/Sister/Parent/etc.”