• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Few Tramadol questions

Ultratramsguy

Greenlighter
I’m new to trams and have rarely taken opiates. I was thinking about taking 150 mg for the first time. Should I pop, or crush and mix with water? How long does the high last? Will I get the infamous Tramadol hangover on my first time? Will my chance of seizure go up if I crush, even though it’s under the seizure threshold? Thanks

If the pills are immediate release type then crushing them won't do much except maybe cause them to kick in slightly, probably imperceptibly, quicker. Most pills dissolve pretty quickly on relatively empty stomach.

If they are ER type (extended release) then crushing may cause them to dissolve much quicker but this would depend on what type of ER method the pill manufacturer used (I'm unfamiliar with ER tramadol pills).

150mg is considered under the normal seizure threshold but this doesn't mean you cannot have a seizure from less. Some people are more prone than others. IE Some people have had seizures from regular 50mg doses... It's fairly rare but it does happen.

A hangover is possible. It's impossible to say whether you'll get one from 150mg, probably not but again it's impossible to say. Personally I only got hangovers when I took more than 250mg in a night.

I don't remember tramadol's exact length of action but I believe you'll feel effects for like 4-6 hours (assuming immediate release) with some minor after effects for a few more. The peak will probably be between hour 1 and hour 3.