• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Ethics of self diagnosing and using medical marijuana on pets (my experience)

noone1

Bluelighter
Not sure what kind of response I will get on this. If it's negative by all means close it and delete. I just wanted to share my positive experience.

There are only a couple of vets in the entire U.S. that will advocate this and even fewer that will actually treat and prescribe the appropriate amounts of marijuana. Not only the legality angle but also because studies are so few on this topic (but not really if you think about it, marijuana is already used in animal studies just not "pets")

I have a dog that recently developed grand mal seizures, he was a rescue that was hit by a car when he a puppy several years ago, everything seemed okay until the seizures (perfect health, intelligent) I studied this topic extensively and having looked at all the information available and then discussing it over with my vet (I live in a state where pot is legal) I decided to try cannabis before committing putting my dog on seizure medication. The reason I did this is because all the medications available have significant side effects and will end up increasing the seizure threshold.

My vet wasn't exactly thrilled with the idea, and extremely unhelpful. Maybe it's just my experience but the advice of the medical community seems to be "if it helps use it but we're not getting involved" really it is only advocated for pets who are terminal.

This means I had to figure out the dosing entirely by myself. There are just CBD extracts you can buy but everything I've read on the matter suggests THC is necessary as well for proper seizure control and brain healing. I use a high CBD lower THC strain.