Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Drug Busts Megathread Video Megathread

Dutch drug policy, pragmatic as ever

edgarshade

Bluelighter
Guardian

Shirley Haasnoot
Thursday 3 January 2013 13.31 GMT

The Dutch approach is about curtailing crime and hard drug use – and tourists needn't worry too much about a new rule.

I went to school on the border of the sleepy university town of Leiden, in the Netherlands. Drugs, ranging from cannabis in coffee shops to much stronger substances, were around. What kept me and almost everyone I knew away from those drugs was detailed information about their effects, which we gathered from our teachers, from television and from teenage magazines.

So when I studied at York University in the 90s, I didn't join the students who took LSD before going into town at night. They said it was great fun but I knew a trip on LSD could go badly wrong. Smoking pot, for sale in government-controlled coffee shops in my home town, would have been a much safer option for them (though not completely harmless either). But in England all drugs seemed to be viewed as equally dangerous.

Education and government information have traditionally kept drug-related health problems in the Netherlands low, compared with the rest of Europe. One in five Dutch young people say they have tried cannabis, which is the European average – but the figures are much lower than average when it comes to hard drugs.

More...
http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/jan/03/dutch-drug-policy-pragmatic

Look into the current situation in the Netherlands , things are changing fast . There are only about 600 coffee's left nation-wide and about half of those will probably stop selling to foreigners in this year , also don't forget the 2008 Mushroom ban .

Did I mention they are going to try banning all hash on the ridiculous presumption that anything with a thc content higher than 15 % poses an immediate risk to the users mental well-being?