• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Drug Change

coco0410

Bluelighter
My doctor next time I see him is going to switch me from xanax to valium, I've been tapering off of xanax for about two months (from 2mg of xanax twice a day, and now I'm finally down to .5mg four times a day (2mg) yay!) I'm just scared that the panic attacks are going to come back :( sigh I know no one is a doctor but maybe if someone has the same experience can give me tips on what to expect. Thanks!!

Valium is a better choice for maintenance because it is longer acting. If you just need to pop a xanax when you are having an episode that's fine. Keep in mind the Valium is much harder to kick should you ever want to be rid of benzos completely.

I have been using Xanax (alprazolam) for years and am not dependent on it. I can take it every night for a week and sometimes during the day if I get the alcoholic shakes, but I can not take it for a week. I suggest you look at other people's experinces taking it long term and see what it was like for them.

Valium is a better choice for maintenance because it is longer acting. If you just need to pop a xanax when you are having an episode that's fine. Keep in mind the Valium is much harder to kick should you ever want to be rid of benzos completely.

I have been using Xanax (alprazolam) for years and am not dependent on it. I can take it every night for a week and sometimes during the day if I get the alcoholic shakes, but I can not take it for a week. I suggest you look at other people's experinces taking it long term and see what it was like for them.