• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Misc Does St John's Wort Work as well as SSRI

Jayess

Greenlighter
Celexa has worked well to remove depression/anxiety symptoms in the past, however it did cause emotional blunting, sexual dysfunction, completely inhibiting MDMA/psychedelics and I'm not longer able to smoke weed without panic attacks and paranoia

I've never tried St Johns Wort before, but I've heard it works well for the same function, without causing emotional blunting or sexual problems. I've also heard it can restore the magic for MDMA and potentiate psychedelic euphoria. But I've also heard of potential problems to do with eyes, photosensitivity, mania and psychosis.

Can anyone give any experiences they've had with SJW and whether it was effective for their symptoms, and also whether they had any negative side effects or problems.

Jayess, I have some information that you might find useful. St. John's Wort (Hypericum Perforatum), although it is a commonly purchased and used over the counter substance, it actually has pretty significant effect upon the individual who uses it. One of the definitive traits of the substance is that it's responsible for a lot of negative drug interactions. It interacts with countless drugs and you need to do to your research before combining other medications with St. John's Wort.

Because St. John's Wort has effects upon Serotonin, there is a potential risk for Serotonin Syndrome, which can lead to death if it is severe. So you really should not use this supplement if you're already on an SSRI. It could be dangerous. If you decide to use St. John's Wort, I would advise you to stop taking the SSRI first.