• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Opioids Does IV drug use negatively effect lung capacity and cardio / endurance?

OpiateKiller

Bluelighter
I’m curious if anyone knows of any definite link between IVing drugs and lung damage. I’ve been IVing heroin (east coast powder) and my methadone script and it seems my lung capacity and endurance has greatly gone down in the past month or so...

I mean after 2 sets in the gym I’m gasping for air which I am not accustomed to.

Does injecting drugs somehow impact the lungs and ones ability to breathe ?

Im not a doctor, but Im pretty sure that IVing Heroin doesn't improve your general health anyway. 😉👍
Good thing that you are exercising that is always a good thing. Keep it up!

When was the last time you exercised or did cardio?

There is undoubtedly pulmonary damage done from intravenous drug use, especially from the insoluble fillers, and methadone is probably worse for the pulmonary system than heroin (depending upon cuts.)

But, I'd be more concerned if there were other accompanying symptoms at times other than during intense exercise.

Could be something else, or it could be the methadone, you really shouldn't be IVing that. Do you even get a rush? (Genuinely curious)

Injecting insoluble particles does harm the lungs as far as I know, because some of them get trapped in the small blood vessels and in the alveoli and the body struggles to get rid of them if you're a chronic IV user (probably leading to chronic inflammation and a bunch of lung problems). That's one of the reasons why everybody should be using micron filters and avoid injecting pills as much as possible.