thegreenhand

Administrator
Staff member

China Should Rejoin the U.S. in the Opioid Crisis

Rahul Gupta
Wall Street Journal
22 Aug 2022

Excerpt:
In recent years illicit drugs such as fentanyl have killed hundreds of thousands of people and caused millions more to suffer world-wide.

As a physician, I have treated people poisoned by these drugs in half a dozen states over the past 25 years. While clandestinely produced drugs such as fentanyl hardly ever leave China in their final form, precursor chemicals for these drugs often are imported by criminals from China to Mexico, where lethal synthetic drugs are produced and trafficked to countries across the globe, including the U.S.

The U.S. has significantly increased fentanyl seizures along its southern border, seizing more than twice as much fentanyl in fiscal 2021 than in 2020 and four times the amount seized in 2019, denying billions in profits to criminal organizations that destabilize democracies and fuel crime, corruption, violence and irregular migration. That is why President Biden’s National Drug Control Strategy makes a priority of sanctions and other efforts to disrupt and dismantle these international criminal organizations.

not very confidence inspring to read this from the director of the ONDCP, but i guess it goes with the job

you'd think he'd have the knowledge at his disposal to see that interdiction hasn't worked, and really is what caused the proliferation of fentanyl

it also seems strange to unnecessarily drum up more anti china sentiment given the recent tensions over taiwan visits... not sure what the tactics are here

I wonder how much fatal ODs would go down if morphine were made available OTC.

I wonder how much fatal ODs would go down if morphine were made available OTC.