• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Cannabis addiction treatments? - FAAH inhibitors, Ro 61-8048, & Baclofen

Changa707

Bluelighter
Greetings all, I have been smoking a mixture of cannabis and tobacco daily for 5 years and am looking for some kind of replacement, as my goal is to quit. Many people don't take cannabis dependence seriously, but for some individuals it can be very debilitating. Although the physical w/d are less severe than say benzos or opiates, the psychological addiction can be equally as strong for some people.

However the good news is that there are quite a few studies being done on the pharmacological treatment of cannabis dependence.

Below I have posted excerpts regarding the effectiveness of various substances, accompanied by links to each article.

Baclofen - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3171994/

During active cannabis smoking, baclofen dose-dependently decreased craving for tobacco and cannabis, but had little effect on mood during abstinence and did not decrease relapse. Mirtazapine improved sleep during abstinence, and robustly increased food intake, but had no effect on withdrawal symptoms and did not decrease cannabis relapse. Overall, this human laboratory study did not find evidence to suggest that either baclofen or mirtazapine show promise for the treatment of cannabis withdrawal.

Ro 51-8048 - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3171994/

But when the researchers increased their kynurenic acid levels with Ro 61-8048, they chose to consume about 80 percent less THC. After the drug wore off, and their kynurenic acid levels decreased to normal, they went right back to hitting the THC levers rapidly.

URB597 - http://www.smithsonianmag.com/scien...mical-a-cure-for-marijuana-addiction-1638924/