• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Can IV drugs be taken transdermally?

regatis

Greenlighter
It's my first time here, so I'll try keeping to the point.
Is it possible for an IV drug (i.e. watered down morphine, coke, MDMA, etc) to be absorbed into the bloodstream transdermally (i.e. using a patch, like nicotine and contraceptive patches)?
If so, how stuck to the skin must the patch be? That is, must it be stuck properly, like a usual patch, or is simply touching the skin enough?

I should clarify. I'm writing a book, and I thought of hiding my character's drug use by having his IV drug hidden in his watch strap. That way, the drug slowly diffuses from the strap into the skin, and everyone else is simply noticing the high. I wondered if this would actually work, if the watch strap were semipermeable.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited:
[h=1]Novel patch for transdermal administration of morphine.[/h]
CONTEXT: Transdermal absorption of morphine into the systemic circulation through intact skin has not been reported.

OBJECTIVES:

To describe a novel transdermal formulation for a morphine hydrochloride patch consisting of polyethylene sponge foam as the retaining agent and adjusted proportions of morphine hydrochloride and adjunctive drugs.

METHODS:

In this study, the transdermal morphine hydrochloride patch was administered to intact skin in five subjects and the plasma concentrations of morphine and its metabolites were examined.

RESULTS: