• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Can benzos continue to exert a significant effect after the plasma concentration has decreased below 10% of therapeutic dose?

WilliamSSS

Greenlighter
Hi everyone.

I have a very peculiar situation for you all. Would very much appreciate any insights or answers.

I have been tapering diazepam for the past 8 months. Finally got to around 7mg daily, when all of a sudden that usual dose got extremely sedating and felt way too strong. It honestly felt like 30mg diazepam to me. In response, I lowered my dose rapidly and tapered from 7mg daily to 0 in about 3 weeks. It has been 6 weeks since my last dose and i'm still feeling very much sedated and 'high'. This feeling usually comes on in 'waves' during the day, where i'll suddenly be high as a kite and completely calm for several hours.

This got to the point where i had my blood plasma checked for diazepam or metabolites. The results indicated that 5 weeks after my last dose, there was 2ug/ml diazepam and 19ug/ml nordiazepam (demethyldiazepam) left in my blood (therapeutic range 125-250ug/ml for diazepam and 200-800 ug/ml for nordiazepam). Oxazepam or Temazepam were not found. Additionally, urine screening for any benzos was negative, presumably due to the extremely low blood concentration.

Is it somehow possible for diazepam or its metabolites to directly cause this sedated feeling, even though blood concentration is low? Can drugs still exert a significant effect on the CNS with such low blood concentration? The blood test also revealed slightly elevated liver enzymes (AST & ALT, 50 and 135 respectively).

Very much looking forward to your insights.

Hi all,

I see plasma concentration being used as a proxy for strength of effects, and half-life as a proxy for duration of action. I know this not to be the case, as for example diazepam has an incredibly long half-life but short duration of action, supposedly because of its high lipophilicity.