• 🇬🇧󠁿 🇸🇪 🇿🇦 🇮🇪 🇬🇭 🇩🇪 🇪🇺
    European & African
    Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • EADD Moderators: axe battler | Pissed_and_messed

British Pharma

Perhaps cos temaz is a controlled drug and diaz isnt

Most benzodiazepines became controlled drugs in 1985 and were were added to class C of the MODA. Where the confusion comes in is their scheduling under the Medicines Act - Most benzos fall under Schedule 4 which means that they can be treated as any POM medication. Temazepam and more recently Midazolam were added to Schedule 3 which requires special requirements for their storage (i.e they have to be locked away)

When I was a staff nurse we used to carry all of our benzodiazepines on our main drug trolley (which means that within reason, one can help themselves to a strip of the most commonly prescribed benzos, mainly diazepam, lorazepam and chlordiazopoxide without the pharmacy department complaining). If we had any patients on Temazepam however, the medicine had to go into the controlled drugs cupboard along with the usual schedule 2 drugs we carried (mainly Methadone and Oral Morphine) and required a second colleague to witness and account for their dispensation.

Thanks for clearing that up stee. . i knew for a fact temaz had to be kepf in a cd cupboard cos. When i was prescribed it they used to have fo go to the cd cupboard in the chemist fo get ir...

Most benzodiazepines became controlled drugs in 1985 and were were added to class C of the MODA. Where the confusion comes in is their scheduling under the Medicines Act - Most benzos fall under Schedule 4 which means that they can be treated as any POM medication. Temazepam and more recently Midazolam were added to Schedule 3 which requires special requirements for their storage (i.e they have to be locked away)