• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Angry management

crazyhairman

Bluelighter
Simple play on words. I noticed even though I am seven years clean, stable and comfortable financially, I still loose my temper. I see it often with random strangers in the street, grocery store, online basically everywhere. By trade I am a manager in a big company based in Texas. Part of my job is keeping everyone productive and motivated, pretty normal stuff.

Honestly I really dislike people and they're various attitudes, complexities in how you have to adress people. I avoid conflict as much as I can but honestly sometimes internally I am about to rip someone's head off.

Today was something, I'm not at work , I'm at my cabin in Oklahoma. Got a buddy helping me fix this place up a bit. Anyway dude was trying to switch out the refrigerator doors, so they open from the right instead of left. Honestly a useless form over function measure.

Right out of the gate, I'm asking him if he read the directions, has all the tools , knows the process.
He assured me it's easy no problem for him.

2 hours go by, I offered some assistance, he became very irate and cussing and throwing things. I just walked away. I have a big thing with respect.

The thing is, I walked away this time , but what flashed in my mind was me strangling him to death while screaming at him to SHUT THE FUCK UP.

I know this kind of internal anger can't be healthy or productive but it just comes from no where. I've gotten the same feelings at work, on vacations, just hanging out with friends. I feel like it's a matter of time and I can't be the only person walking around like this.