Mental Health Ambilify (Sandoz-Aripiprazole) anyone?

Opi_Kid_Rock

Bluelighter
I've been prescribed 10mg per day to start to treat my major depression. It makes me nauseous and I almost throw up; Gravol does not help at all. Has this medication been helpful for anyone out there or has it caused mostly sickness feelings to those who take it? Am I supposed to feel like vomitting? Has anyone tried the injection form of Ambilify? If so, how was it? Thank you BL members.

I cannot speak specifically about abilify, but my general opinion is 2nd gen antipsychotics are a lousy fix for depression. Never something I would take for depression, only other serious mental illness. Side effects are too noteworthy.

I'm sure someone else can chime in. I have no knowledge in regards to this drug and depression specifically.

Everything I read online about this medication has been bad, about its really damaging side-effects that can harm people for life. I'm so afraid of taking this medication regularly. I've been holding off on taking it.

I take this medicine regularly and believe that it saved my life. To @SnafuInTheVoid, I think Abilify is considered a 3rd gen antipsychotic.

@Opi_Kid_Rock this medicine is not indicated as the primary treatment for major depression. But it is sometime used for bi-polar people who are made manic my SSRI's. It is thought useful for depression because it is quite activiting unlike 2nd gen anti-psychotics which tend to make people sluggish. Do you have other diagnoses?

In my case it has been used to control intrusive thoughts that often led to mania. It works perfectly for this. It was also extremely beneficial in off-label treatment of methamphetamine addiction.