• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Am I going about my wanted future the right way?

idontdothizz

Bluelighter
The one thing that interests me the most is psychology and psychiatry, because I am good at reading and understanding peoples thoughts and emotions...
I have always been good at being people's personal non-professional shrink.

I am 18 years old
I graduated high school
with a fairly low GPA... somewhere between 2.0-2.5...
I am job-less and car-less.
I do not live with my parents, I live with my girlfriend and her mom so not much assistance there...
Getting a job is not easy at all because everywhere is full and the only places I can find hiring are too far away...

But anyway, I realize that going to college for what I want to do will be difficult without transportation, or a job to get transportation, but I am currently doing what I can to change that, but I want to prepare for my future and it seems the only way I can do that is to prepare in whatever way I can.

The way I am doing that may sound silly but my girlfriends mom gave me her college level psychology textbook that she had to buy at some point when she went to college, and I was wondering:

How beneficial will it be if i learned everything in this textbook? Would it increase my chances into getting into a college despite my poor GPA?

I just want to be sure that I am not wasting my time on this textbook. Also, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have considered military but I have come to realize that life is too sacred and I do not want to ever have to take anybody elses life ever.

You don't necessarily have to have a car to go to college, if you live on campus. It kind of sucks, but my girlfriend was without a car for almost 2 years of her undergraduate college. The textbook would likely help you out once you go INTO a college and were taking a psych class, but I doubt its going to be much help to get you in there in the first place.