• ✍️ WORDS ✍️

Welcome Guest!

• Words Moderators: Mysterier

advice for writing better poems

suzieq70s

Bluelighter
I've been working on writing poems for about 3 years now. I've got around 40 written some I really like some I think are only average. Some take weeks to write with a lot of editing. Some take only a couple of hours and need almost no editing. They just seem to flow. For me a really good poem makes you feel wether it's hope and happiness or despair and sadness. Either way they make you feel. They take you inside that moment. They grab you by your soul and they don't let go.

So any advice would be greatly appreciated about rhyme and rhythm and flow. How to drag the reader into your thoughts and feelings.

Thank you so much

Wish I could give you better advice than keep reading and writing. Keep an open mind and an open heart. Go to live poetry readings. Take a creative writing course at a local community college, or see if there are any free/cheap workshops in your area.

This website has a lot of good stuff, as far as inspiration, style, and habits of creative types, from famous writers http://www.brainpickings.org/tag/poetry/

Last edited:
Thankyou JahSEEuS for the link above. I have a couple writers that I really like. Edgar Allen Poe and Charles Bukowski. I'm planning on studying there writings on my own. And the link you gave me will give me a good opportunity to be exposed to others as well. And I'd love to find a workshop somewhere around here. Thankyou again

PM me your location, if you like, and I'll find you a workshop.

I'm going to point out some things I think you should avoid, in order to write better poems.

1. Don't force rhymes.
You mentioned liking Poe and Bukowski.
Poe's rhyming schemes are often really complex.
The raven, if you analyze it, is mind-blowing in terms of rhyme.
But Bukowski, and company, destroyed the conventions of poetry for the better (IMO).
You should only use rhyme, when needed.