• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

A little worried, advice welcome...

Allsmiles

Greenlighter
Ok, I have been taking pain meds for over 20 years. Ive mostly stuck to hydrocodone however I have been taking 30mg oxycodone one or two at a time for the last two weeks due to a spinal injury but Ive not taken more than 3 in one day. My tolerance to opiates is pretty decent. I have to take 50 mg of hydrocodone at a time which I hate. Anyway my dr. Prescribed 100mg/72 hr fentanyl transdermal system (not gel). I have had fentanyl through iv at the hospital but this is my first time attempting it on my own without dr. supervision. Anyway I waited until I was in excruciating pain before putting it on (rookie mistake..I know) so a guy I work with who has used them for years told me to cut a 3rd of it off and place it under my tongue to get some relief now while I give the patch 8hrs to start working. I was in so much pain that I cut a 3rd off after putting the patch on 5 mins before placed it under my tongue and left the remaining 2/3rds on the patch on without really looking anything up. So now I'm reading threads from here and Im a bit worried. I feel ok. Its been about 30 mins since I put the patch on and Ive had the strip I cut off (1/3rd of the patch) under my tongue about the same amount of time. My tongue is numb and I do feel relief and a little bit of a high. My question is what should I be looking for as far as "danger signs" as time goes by and the patch begins to work? My fear is mostly due to the fact that I'm alone. I normally would never do anything that would put me at risk like this however I was in so much pain in that moment I was just desperate an